Posted by: Justin | September 19, 2007

BIBLE SAYS THE WORLD IS FLAT?

This literally cringed me..

WHOOPI GOLDBERG: Is the world flat?

SHERRI SHEPHERD: Is the world flat? (laughter)

GOLDBERG: Yes.

SHEPHERD: …I Don’t know.

  >>Really??

GOLDBERG: What do you think?

SHEPHERD: I… I never thought about it, Whoopi. Is the world flat? I never thought about it.

     >>What? You haven’t ever seen pictures of the earth? Or are you going to believe it’s flat by faith?

BARBARA WALTERS: You’ve never thought about whether the world was round or flat?

SHEPHERD: I tell you what I’ve thought about. How I’m going to feed my child–

      >>Yeah, way to deflect the issue at hand..

WALTERS: Well you can do both.

SHEPERD: …how I’m going to take care of my family. The world, is the world flat has never entered into, like that has not been an important thing to me.

     >>It probably should by now that you have embarrassed yourself and every other Christian out there.

 HOW TO ANSWER THIS QUESTION:The Scriptures tell us that the earth is round: “It is he that sits upon the circle of the earth” (Isaiah 40:22). The word translated “circle” here is the Hebrew word ‘chuwg’, which is also translated “circuit” or “compass” (depending on the context). That is, it indicates something spherical, rounded, or arched — not something that is flat or square. The book of Isaiah was written sometime between 740 and 680 B.C. This is at least 300 years before Aristotle suggested, in his book On the Heavens, that the earth might be a sphere. It was another 2,000 years later (at a time when science believed that the earth was flat) that the Scriptures inspired Christopher Columbus to sail around the world. (source: livingwaters.com)  

 NOTE: This is mainly an biblical interpretation issue, just like the young-earth vs. old-earth debate. The scripture is inerrant and infallible, but not our interpretations. Christians ask ‘why should I learn all this apologetic stuff’, this is exactly why. Please learn why you believe what you believe.

Leave a Reply

Categories

